I had a bit of a frankenstien moment

One of my regular charity shops has started putting several dolls together in a bag to sell. Theyve done it a few times now. It seems like this is kinda common in american thrift shops, Ive seen it a lot in peoples thrift shopping and haul videos, but it isnt so usual in the UK. Our charity shops are quite small, and its pretty usual to find a shop with only one or two dolls, so they just get put out individually. Anyway, this shop is doing it for some reason. 

So now, I have the thing where you want to buy one specific doll, but it comes with a few others you dont want, so do you spend the extra and then get rid of the others, or you have to find a use for them. Anyways there was a bag with three dolls. One wierd dora the explorer doll (I love those), a strawberry shortcake who is kinda cute, Im sure Ill do something with her. And finally, this other doll. Id never have bought her on her own. Her face is cute, but the body was shaped a bit like a troll dolls. The legs didnt move at all, she couldnt sit down or anything, shoes were molded on, and her arms just pivoted. I should have taken a photo of her but I forgot to do it before Id destroyed her 🙂

See, cute face. The body shape was super wierd though. It would have been hard to make clothes for, it was so thick and the feet were super wide. So I figured seeing as I had her, Id try a body swap. I had no idea if it would work, because her neck was quite thick, so I decided to find a very cheap body donor in case destruction resulted. 

Yeah, it worked ok! The body I found was a budget barbie clone type, for 30p in a charity shop. The kind with just rooting on the hairline, and then the hair tied up to cover the massive bald spot. She had no clothes, but the word Abbie is molded all over her underwear, so I guess thats the brand. Again, I forgot to take before photos of either doll. My bad.

Abbie has joints in her legs, which is cool too. I really like how she turned out. The skin tones dont match, but its not super obvious. If you hold her in your hands you can totally see it, but oh well. 

The neck is too small for the neck hole. I used hot glue to bulk up the neck peg, so now the head stays on in the right place, although it doesnt really move.

Yeah. Doesnt look great up close. Normally when I do body swaps where I end up with a spare head and body I dont want, I combine them and redonate the resulting doll. If Ive done this with two Barbies to get a better articulated body, it totally works, and you end up with a perfectly good doll. This time though it wasnt gonna happen at all. The Abbie head was too small for the neck, and I managed to destroy the other dolls neck completely anyway.

However, I am still happy with her. I reckon the whole project cost me less than £1, so even though she’s not perfect I dont care. I think she looks cute, and kinda different. She’ll be fine sitting on my shelf

Leave a Reply

