‘Lolita’-style doll dress

So I made this last month


Gonna start off by just saying, that I do not know a lot about lolita. Ive seen photos and liked it and thats about it. I understand that there are rules about what counts as lolita, and which type etc, at least according to some people. Seen big ol’ arguments in comments section! So yeah. Im not trying to say that this dress is lolita. But, photos of lolita stuff was where I got the inspiration.

Anyway, I chose the blue scheme because of the dolls purple hair

She’s actually a hybrid doll. I found a basic, fairly modern Barbie doll with the purple hair, and switched her onto a body with knee and elbow joints. Its actually one of my favourite Barbie bodies because of the larger, flat feet. I related to those a lot as a kid! I wanted to do this cos although I like the body, a lot of the dolls that have it seem to look pretty similar terms of face and hair, so this gives me some variety. Plus, its one of the older bodies with the more exaggerrated waist, which I think works with this dress style. And, obviously, I did a repaint. Not totally happy with the eyes because I accidentally splodged the paint a bit when I did the whites of the eyes, and didnt want to take it all off and start over

The skirt has four layers, I wanted it super poofy

Theres two layers of white, which is actually one strip of fabric folded in half and sewn on. I added lace to one of the white layers. I was going to do both, but the skirt was probably big enough. The only thing Im not happy with is the sleeves. I used a stretchy lace for the lower part so that I could get them over her hands more easily, but it really hasnt held up very well

You can see theres quite a big hole there in the right forearm? The left is the same. And thats after really gentle use, I only put it on and off her maybe 3 times max for the fitting, and then once when it was done, and we got these giant holes. 

Apart from that though, Im really pleased with her!

Leave a Reply

