I made a sofa!

Damn, that photo came out fuzzier than i expected. Anyway, I made it. My mum gave me some scraps of foam, because she’s been reupholstering some real-sized furniture, so I made this.

Heres my foam rectangles laid out; a back, two arms, and two seat pieces. That makes the seat high enough, and I wanted to have it fold out.

I scaled it to my famosa hello kitty dolls, because Im feeling very inspired by them right now. 

I kind of rounded off the arms and back, but only roughly, because I figured it wouldnt show once they were covered. Then I made each piece a little pouch out of my fabric (its a scarf, by the way. I thought the texture worked quite well), basically just by wrapping them in it, tacking it on, then taking it off and running the sewing machine over the tacks. Once each piece was encased, I just stitched them together at the edges. Ive no photos of those bits because I was taking it about with me and doing bits of sewing whilst I was out, which isnt ideal for photos

So, it works as a sofa

Then folds out into a little bed (also, I made the bedding)

When its folded out, its just long enough for her to lie flat. Obviously, a bigger doll isnt going to fit on it like this, but I think they can get away with using it folded up

Gigi looks pretty natural on it, I think. The proportions arent perfect, but I honestly think they’re better than some Ive seen on factory-made stuff, and overall Im really happy with it. Its a lot more robust than what could make using cardboard, cos if you step on it, it’ll just bounce back. It could probably even survive a gentle trip through the washing machine if it really had to. I want to make some more, though Ive only got so much leftover foam. Id be tempted to make one for an 18″ though, and Id need to buy new for that. Maybe one day 🙂

4 thoughts on “I made a sofa!”

Leave a Reply

