Another strange dora the explorer

I found this doll in a charity shop. She’s a bit odd-looking, but she also looked like she might be big enough to wear some of my 18″ clothes, and I do have a bit of a thing about ugly dora dolls

When I got her home, I realised Id estimated her size wrong. She’s actually a fair bit smaller than 18″, but I think the weight is misleading, she feels heavier than Andrea.

I dont really like her face, and the sculpt would make it difficult to really change her expression. But, I do enjoy working with different sculpts, so here we go

I managed to find some stuff in my stash that sort of fits her. Its a little bit loose, and I think its supposed to be for a soft toy, because it has no fastenings. You’d be able to squish a teddys head through the neck of the t shirt, but I had to cut down the back and sew in velco so dora could get it on

Im pretty happy with how her face came out. I think it looks softer and a bit less vacant and staring. Plus, visible eyebrows tend to make a difference. She pretty much had her mouth sculpted open too, so the teeth fit really nicely. I think she looks more like a kid having fun playing around, and more in the spirit of the character at least, even if she isnt a total likeness of the cartoon. She is an odd size though, I cant really pose her with anyone else in my gang. 

Leave a Reply

