Doll head swaps time!

This is a super, super late post. Bad Felix! Ive made posts about more recent stuff, whilst these photos have been sitting on my laptop for a good month Id guess. Uni and work has just really hotted up, and Ive found it easier to write about the more recent things, on the few times I have managed to write.

So, some time ago, I went on a little adventure a bit further afield than I do regularly, to get to a toysrus. I like to go for a good look around, but I do need at least half a day free to manage it. In a way thats a good thing though, because it makes it more exciting. I could go to my local toy shops less often, and make a treat of that, but then I might miss stuff, particularly with TKMaxx. On this occasion, I found a bunch of individual Barbie outfits, and two fashionistas dolls that were on offer.

DSCN9435

I went a bit nuts with the outfits. A lot of Barbie stuff is dresses, which look nice, but you cant mix them up so much. Individual pairs of trousers and things like that are a huge bonus to my doll wardrobe. Although I do have quite a lot of doll clothes, I think that a good two thirds of the bulk is made up of princess dresses, which arent super versatile.

I would only ever buy the Barbie fashionistas dolls when they are on offer. They can go for as much as £25, and I only use their bodies, to put my Ever After High doll heads on. This was like a two for one, or for half price or something offer, and I did have two dolls in mind. A few months back now I bought the disney store Merida doll, who Ive wanted for ages, but I think we all know what the disney store bodies can be like. This was one of the ones with pretty much the least articulation, but even the ones with more articulation are pretty flimsy, so I had my eye out for a good body for her. I’d also been eyeing up one of the newer Ever After High dolls, Rosabella Beauty. I really liked her look, and it was pretty distinct from the dolls I had already.

DSCN9438

Id been waiting to pick her up until I could find a new body for her though, because not only do I not like the EAH body much, but Ive rebodied all my others onto articulated Barbies, so she wouldnt fit in otherwise.

DSCN9436

These are the fashionistas I got. Barbie usually matches EAH ok for skin tone, except Raven and Apple being a bit pale, and Cedar Wood is a bit dark. Rosabella looked pretty standard, so I thought that should work. I took a gamble on Midge and Merida, given they’re both red heads. This was the only was I would ever have bought that Midge doll, because I really dont like her face at all

DSCN9437

And, just as a side note, look at what they did to the back of her head!

DSCN9439

There really isnt any way that that was necessary. Five plastic ties.

DSCN9441

Still, the skin tone match looks pretty good. The contrast makes Midge look even less appealing though. Meridas face is just so sweet and charming. Although it is obviously different, I do think her face shape is similar to my EAH dolls, and I think she’ll fit in just fine living with them in their room (which I still havent finished).

DSCN9442

I love Rosabellas glasses. I did nearly buy Ginger Breadhouse, with her glasses, but I wasnt totally sold, and once Id seen Rosabella I was glad I hadnt

DSCN9440

The glasses wont sit totally straight on her face, but even so, she is just amazing. I cant put my finger on it. I have the same love for her that I had when I got my first dolls, and was totally enchanted by their different look. My fist EAH was Maddie Hatter, with her really quirky look, and I followed her up with Cerise and Raven, as well as Dexter, my one boy. Cerise, Raven and Maddie all look very different, they have a different face sculpt, hair texture, everything. Rosabella is different again, she will stand out with the others. Even though I love these dolls I dont want them all, I think they start to blur into one a bit.

DSCN9443 DSCN9444

Here they are immediately post body swap. I wanted to have a mess around with the outfits, and I decided to restyle my other three EAH girls. Dexter doesnt get anything new to wear because I dont have anything else for him.

DSCN9466

This is how I had them before. I knew exactly what I wanted their style to be, but I wasnt quite happy with these versions. Im much happier with what Ive got them in now.

DSCN9467 DSCN9468

Heres Maddie. I want her to keep with her fairly eclectic, bright coloured look, which she’s had from the start. Stuff like leg warmers, and the flower watch, seem like the really random things Maddie might shove on. I also gave her a bow in her hair, which is actually a collar from a LaDeeDa, because Maddie always needs to have something on her head, being the mad hatters daughter. I dont think a hat would have really worked with the rest of the outfit, and anyway, I dont have vast quantities of doll hats!

Heres Raven

DSCN9472

Shes got the fashionista jacket and top, and a tutu skirt from the individual fashions. I also gave her a bit of flowers for her hair. I think this outfit looks a bit more scary, I guess than her old one. I know Raven isnt actually evil, but she can be scary at times. Its a bit like the descendants Mal dolls look. Not evil, but you dont want to mess with her either.

DSCN9470

Ive kept Cerise in the cloak she had on before. Its not hers originally, its from a Bratzilla, but I think its a nice take on the red cloak, without the hood getting in the way of her gorgeous hair. The rest of her outfit is in the same style as before, sporty and easy to move in, very casual. Cerise wouldnt wear something sas fancy and fussy as the other girls.

DSCN9473

Rosabella is also a bit more casual than Maddie and Raven. Ive kept her hair exactly as it was, because it was gorgeous, and put her in patterned jeans, but her top and shoes are a bit fancier. And she gets a puppy, because she loves animals. Thats a big part of who she is. Likewise, the animal print on the top. And flowers on the trousers are a bit of a reference to the roses from the beauty and the beast story too.

DSCN9469

Finally Merida, also in jeans. She looks so cute in her new outfit, and she can pose better now. Its a pretty good outfit for running through the forest, and riding horses and what have you.

DSCN9474

And here they all are relaxing in their almost finished room.

Leave a Reply

