Charity shop excitement- Get Real Girl and Moxie Girlz

Ive had a visitor for the last few days, the same lovely person who got me Dell, and yesterday we went for an adventure. I call most things adventures to be honest, so possibly not everyone would consider our little day out to be an adventure, but I think its all in how you see it. We got a bus to a different area of the city, which had a park, with some animals to see, and also a fair few charity shops. My lovely person has a few things they like to look out for, relating to their hobbies, and obviously I had my eye on the dolls. The first one I found was a floating Mocie Girlz doll. This is how she would have looked new

IMG_2287

IMG_2286
That ginormous puffy skirt thing is made of foam of some sort, so she will float upright in a childs bath, for instance. Mine did come with the foam bit, but it was pretty damaged, so I binned it on the way out of the shop so she’d fit better in my bag. Im not taking her for a swim. Apart from that she was in decent condition

IMG_2282
No accessories obviously, but I was pleasantly surprised that she has her feet, given that they are removable, so pretty easy to lose. Her face has a little pen mark

IMG_2283
But her hair is pretty good. All the little bits of her skirt were held together with plastic tags

IMG_2280
Im guessing they were meant to make it sit right, but I was wondering what might happen if they got pulled so i cut them out. It didnt make any visual difference

IMG_2281
And her top is plastic and painted on

IMG_2284
And heres the feet

IMG_2285
She doesnt look like she’s been very heavily played with, all in all. The foam thing was messed up but I dont imagine it would have been very sturdy. Her hair is in plaits on amazon photos and such, so I assume its been messed with a little but it was only in bunches, and not very tangled. Im glad to get her, Ive quite fancied a Moxie girl for a while just sort of casually, I quite like the faces, but Ive had no inclination, or money for that matter, to really get into them.
The other doll I found is a little more special.

IMG_2289
Id love to know how she ended up in a yorkshire charity shop. Its probably not anything exciting really, but I often want to know where charity shop dolls come from. My moxie girl (apparently she’s called sophina but Im not planning to stick with that) isnt very old but this girl has been round a bit longer. Apparently, she’s called Skylar, from Get Real Girl dolls

IMG_2330
They were released in america, in 2000, and only lasted for a little while. They were one of the many attempts at what has often been called ‘anti-barbie’ dolls

IMG_2332
Each girl has a sport, and they all have a reasonably well formed background , it sounds like, though I didnt find much about Skylar in particular. She is asian, one of the aims of the lines being that the dolls will represent a variety of ethnicities, and her sport is snowboarding

IMG_2331
She’s lost most of her belongings, but she still has her jumper, and I think the socks are originally hers too, they fit pretty well

IMG_2291
Under the jumper she has painted in underwear

IMG_2292
Im in two minds about her face

IMG_2290
Im not sure if Ive just been conditioned by a lifetime of fashion dolls, but the eyes and mouth just dont quite work together to me. The eyes are shaped to reflect her asian ethnicity, but the mold of her face has rather larger eye sockets, exaggerating their smallness, and the mouth is quite wide. Its definitely a departure from Barbies pretty overly made up look, but Im not sure that its exactly more realistic per say. Just different.
Her articulation is interesting. Her head tilts back very well

IMG_2293
But not so well forward

IMG_2294
And theres a nice side tilt too

IMG_2295
I dont think the range in her arms is anything exciting, though it would have been a bit more novel 15 years ago

IMG_2296
She’s got larger muscles than any other doll I have, but her wrists dont feel very robust honestly. Might be age though. One hand has a magnet in the palm, presumably so she could hold something in her accessories

IMG_2297
Her torso looks like it has two joints, at the ribcage and waist, but actually the waist one doesnt move at all

IMG_2298
The top one moves forward and back

IMG_2300

IMG_2301
As well as side to side

IMG_2302

IMG_2303
And it can spin around

IMG_2304
And she can do several movements there at once, so theres a lot of options there compared to my modern Barbie dolls that have a joint there

IMG_2299-0
My favourite thing to her, and the reason I decided to buy her, is the knees

IMG_2305
Each knee has two joints, giving her double the range of motion effectively

IMG_2306
She can kneel

IMG_2327
As well as striking a few other interesting poses that noone else I have can

IMG_2311

IMG_2307

IMG_2328
I suspect her hair was never taken out of its original bunches, because the elastic bands were completely knackered, and brok as I took them out. Its probably going to take time or a good boil to get her hair to lie flat

IMG_2309

IMG_2308
Its really not that bad though, and I think I like it and her face better when its pulled back

IMG_2310
I think its probably the bulkier limbs but I think she lacks the grace of my other dolls. Here she is with my disney store Mulan

IMG_2314
And here they are striking a pose

IMG_2315
I still like her, but I think Mulan pulls off the dancing-type pose better. I suppose Skylar would look better doing something like heavy lifting or sprinting though. Clothing wise she doesnt have a lot of options in my house. The only things that fit her are my Freaky Freya dresses, and some dresses I crocheted, because crochet has a lot of stretch

IMG_2312

IMG_2313
I dont think either of them is really her though. She can wear her jumper, but Ill have to make her some trousers.
My moxie girls proportions reminded me most of my Bratzillas, thoug obviously with less articulation

IMG_2316
Meg does look taller, but the body shapes are fairly close

IMG_2317
Megs waist is a bit more exaggerated, is all I think. And actually, when I put them back to back with their heels at the same level, they are a lot closer in height, so I think its mostly Megs heels

IMG_2318
She can wear the skirt Meg came in, but not the top over her moulded top decoration

IMG_2321
But she can wear Angels dress

IMG_2322
And it even does up all the way up the back

IMG_2323
Other than that she can wear sparkle girlz and Steffi clothes, so presumably Barbie etc too, but they’re kinda loose, and low necklines dont work too well

IMG_2319

IMG_2320
It looked like the gold bits were just glued on, so I tried to prise them off after using a bit of nail polish remover, but it turns out they were more inset than they looked

IMG_2329
Im filling the gap in with pva glue, and Ill paint it skin coloured. It’ll be less awkward than the gold bits were.
Im pretty amused by the contrast between these two

IMG_2326
Skylar is more realistic, but Sophinas face has much more detail to it. I feel like if you mixed the two dolls together you’d get the perfect doll

Leave a Reply

