Toys r us confuses me.

No, I have not been doll shopping. I am sticking with my aim to dial it back a bit, but that of course doesnt mean I cant look. Given that I want to spend less on dolls, it seems more important that I look, because then I can only buy things I really, really want. Like a girl for all time Matilda, I am in love with that doll, but she isnt exactly a corner shop purchase. Recently Ive been looking into the famosa Nancy doll. They sell her at toys r us, and she sort of reminds me of Emily, being a hard bodied, slim doll, but I wasnt so sure about her face. I wasnt sure I liked it, and yet the face on my beloved Emily isnt the one she came with. The sweet, patient expression I was comparing Nancy to was in fact partly my own creation. And photos sometimes really dont help. Heres one of her pictures

IMG_2206
I like the fact that she doesnt just come as a blonde. Having Emily, Id want to get her with a different hair colour for variety. I also thought that Emily and Nancy, and possible Noelle too, might be able to share some clothes. Toys r us sells some individual outfit packs for Nancy, so I decided to go and look at her first hand, buy an outfit to try on, and then make my decision for the future. Plus, I like wandering round toy shops. There are always things to check out, and after this trip I really wish I had a proper camera that. I could take with me, because there were things I would have liked to share. There were some lovely barbie outfit sets on sale, for starters, and though some were the ones Ive seen all over, there were a few I hadnt, like one with a nautical theme. And I found one thing that just made no. Flipping. Sense. I imagine a lot of people reading a doll blog will know about Liv dolls, but just in case, Liv dolls are a line that is now discontinued, and never really made it over here anyway. It was pretty much an american thing, which is a shame, because they’re supposed to have great articulation, and they have swappable wigs, which is a nice idea. Ive seen plenty of doll fans mourning those, and I can completely see why, Id quite like to get a few. Maybe three or four dolls, and then as many fashion and wig packs as I could get my hands on. Thats another good thing, the line had more opportunity to buy clothes without having to buy a new doll every single time.
Anyway, where this is all going, is that on the barbie shelf in toys r us there was a single Liv outfit. Why? It was battered as anything, and I had a good look to see if there was anything else, ideally a doll, because if I come across one Im definitely buying it, but there was just that single outfit. Where did that even come from? I didnt think they did it over here at all, and now they dont do it anywhere, so how? Why? I want answers, and I know full well Im getting none.
Also at toys r us was a 30cm version of the I love Minnie dolls I got on holiday. I wanted to see that up close, because the photo made it look as cute as the smaller doll, and I was pretty doubtful that it would be. I was right, those eyes do not translate well to being about five times thier normal size! Id show a picture, but I had no way to take one. Sometimes I think a smartphone would come in pretty useful, but then I remember how bad I am at technology, and also the fact that my mobile bill is £7.50 a month, and conclude Im quite alright as I am.
And now for Nancy, the main goal of the day. Im sure some people are expecting me to now unveil a photo of one of those dolls sitting on my bed, resolution broken, but you would be wrong. Firstly, I meant what I said. I picked up lots of things in the shop that I could have so easily bought. Some of the Sofia stuff, the tiny disney princess toddlers, ALL of the barbie clothes, but I did not. Also, Nancy is not the doll for me. I looked at her face mold, rather than her paint, because i can always redo that, and I dont like the actual shape. Plus, much as I love Emily, her articulation is one of the more limited ones I have, and so Id prefer to get dolls with different jointing. Some of the Nancys had bendable knees, but that was it. I did still want to pick up an outfit though, because her body shape looks so similar to Emily, as far as you can tell under clothes. Here I hit the only snag. The cheapest individual outfit sets were all t shirt and shorts, T shirt and skirt, etc. No long sleeves or long trousers, so I didnt think that’d be much use for comparing fit.cand they were made of stretchy fabric too. So it was pretty much a guarantee that they’ll fit my girls, but I cant extrapolate that to the rest of her wardrobe. For a bit more money there were two-outfit packs, which had longer sleeves and trousers, as well as fabrics that looked to have less stretch, so it had to be one of these instead. Annoyingly, I picked the one I liked best, but it turned out not to have any long sleeves after all, it just looked like it did because of how it was packaged, so I didnt get to test that. But I guess if legs fit, proportions ought to work out in my favour for arms.
First off I tried the clothes on Noelle. I thought she was less likely to fit, because she’s a little bit taller and wider than Emily, especially in the hips, but at the moment she has a smaller wardrobe so I really wanted them to. Astonishingly, the shoes do sort of fit her

IMG_2197
They are too wide and too short, but they will go on her feet and stay there, which theres not a chance of them doing on Emily

IMG_2196
They’re going to fall off any second, her feet are just so small

IMG_2195
I really like the shoes actually, there are two pairs identical except with the colours reversed, and they come with a cute litte shoebox thats the perfect fit

IMG_2193
When I first saw it in the packaging I thought it was just decoration, no way it would be any use, but it is

IMG_2194
So, the clothes. First up, a dress, which honestly I just dont think is Noelles style

IMG_2201
Not that it fits though, so thats a bit irrelevant

IMG_2202
The trousers have the same issue, though I was surprised to see that they’re long enough, Emilys are too short for her

IMG_2203
The t shirt looks fantastic though

IMG_2204
Loose fit and stretchy fabric. Im pretty sure she’d be fine in the individual outfit packs. Combine that t shirt with the leggings from the designafriend winter coat pack, and she has a really nice casual hanging around outfit

IMG_2205
Those are actually the trousers that Emily has been wearing, but she can easily spare them. Because she has two new outfits!

IMG_2198
Beautiful. Seriously, a perfect fit

IMG_2199
Dolls trousers can be a bit unforgiving, but these obviously fit so closely I wonder if the two girls might have a shared body mould. I mean, Im not exactly sure of Emilys origins, and since Nancy is also made by a non-english company, I dont know as much as Id like to about her either. Though the feet are obviously different. And the dress looks so so so lovely on her, its just perfect

IMG_2192
I wish it didnt say Nancy on it, but Ill pretend thats just a label, like tops with GAP on them. Nethilia, of american girl outsider, says she does that with Isabelles clothes, and I think its a handy way around it. This is the one that made me thing there were long sleeves, because it has arm and leg warmers with it, and the way everything was attached I couldnt tell that the arm pieces were separate. Legs either actually, I thought they were leggings because the tops were under the skirt, but I got some other trousers so thats not a big deal. Ive got to be honest, I dont quite get whats supposed to happen with those. Ive put the leg warmers on Emily all scrunched down, and theres a look of socks to them, but the arm ones dont make any sense. Those are the only things I wont be using though, except for two hair ribbons

IMG_2200cite, but dont fit the dolls heads, so pointless. Im definitely going to get more Nancy outfits in future. Some of the ones that come with the dolls are really nice so I might see if they crop up on ebay sans Nancy.
That Liv doll thing is still bugging me though…

4 thoughts on “Toys r us confuses me.”

  1. Congrats on an excellent find! You my have noticed I have a soft spot for liv dolls :3 They are quite amazing, I’m so disappointed that they’re no longer being made… I definitely recommend you get one, if you can (ebay ,that’s where all but 1 of mine came from) but if you are looking for one with full articulation do not get a twist and dance or a sleepover party doll… I’m sure you could look them up, but the twist and dance dolls have a different twisting waist and tippy toe feet that have no ankle articulation. The sleepover party dolls have “pillow fight action” which I’m not really sure about, but the dolls have different knee joints and again no ankle articulation, but they do have “sleepy eyes”, which I think are pretty neat… Hope you find the perfect one ;3

    Like

  2. Oh yeah, I wanted to mention, maybe the single liv outfit was there just because it will fit Barbie. Liv dolls and newer ” bellybutton “style Barbies can share clothes! And some times shoes, making dressing your liv so easy.

    Like

  3. The dress didnt look like it would fit a barbie. I mean you cant really tell til you try it, but it looked like it would be too loose. I would definitely like to get some liv dolls, thats a long term doll goal. Really any would do because you can change clothes and wigs, so long as they have the articulation of course, but ive seen some alice in wonderland ines which I loved

    Like

Leave a Reply

