She lives!

A while ago one of wilkinsons style stars dolls caught my eye. Its a pretty basic line, nothing fancy going on with face sculpts, so their non-white doll option was the same doll made in darker skin. But this doll was also wearing a floor-length, long-sleeved dress and a headscarf. I bought her because even though Im not a person of colour, or of religion for that matter, there do need to be dolls that represent everybody, and if people buy them, then manufacturers will make more. When I got her home I discovered that under the loose fitting dress she had an hourglass figure more like the earliest barbies I ever had, produced in the nineties. The contrast, between the progress in having a non-white doll, wearing clothes that would be more culturally relevant to the young girls who could relate to her, and the crazy hourglass figure, endeared her to me even more. Unfortunately, there was still the face. I dont think the screening for her face was changed much at all from the white dolls, so she had baby pink lips, the works. So off it came, and since then Ive been trying to figure out who she’s going to be, and give her a new face. Once I find her personality, anyway. And today, taking off my latest failed eyes, the half removed smears gave me an idea, and I think Ive finally got a handle on her. Here she is

2015/01/img_1989.jpg

Also, heres that lovely nineties barbie-esque figure

2015/01/img_1990.jpg

Shes going to join my supernatural girls! They’ll all appear on here eventually, but long story short, I have a little selection of ones that caught my eye, a few pixie punks, one twilight teen, and one draculaura on a pixie punks body. With those sunken eyes, she can be a banshe ghoul type thing and she’ll fit right in. Ghosts dont have to be white either 🙂

Leave a Reply

