Bratzillaz (meyghana broomstixx)

Meg is actually my newest doll, theres a 50% off all toys offer at the wilkinsons up the road from me and Im having a hard time tearing myself away. Dolls, like meg, who I only kind of wanted to have, suddenly become irresistable when they are that cheap. She only cost me a fiver, and one of my two juicy crush La Dee Das was only £3.25! I actually went up there for the wilkinsons own brand kitchen set, which I really want, its incredibly sweet and actually quite realistic. Most furniture sets for dolls around Barbie size seem to be pink, which I dont think looks great in a doll room set up. But it was all gone, and somehow I ended up leaving with yet another doll :/
I had Bratz when I was younger, so I was curious to see where they’ve gone with them in over a decade. I had five Bratz, two Jades, one Yasmine and two of the boys, but I have no idea what they were supposed to be called. They werent a doll line I was ever much into, so I think they were pretty much all gifts from people who just kinda went ‘Present for small girl? Random doll!’. Im not at all ungrateful that relatives and family friends who didnt even know me that well went to the trouble of buying me gifts anyway, but I did get quite a few that didnt make a lot of sense. My aunt who lives down south, and who I totally adore, once sent me a pair of jeans which was too large, and somehow went straight from that to too small, without the period of being the right size that you’d expect in the middle. Shame, cos I thought they were pretty cool, they had red stitching on them.
Anyway. My first Bratz was a winter version of Jade, I dont remeber the actual name of the line but she had a sled, a couple of warm outfits, actually pretty good by the standards of a doll set. The main things that stopped me really warming to them was their ridiculously unrealistic proportions (I mean I know Barbies not exactly little miss good example, and she was worse then, her proportions have definitely got better since my childhood, but Bratz were a whole other level), their stupid snap on shoes/feet, the makeup, and also the characters themselves. I find that when I get a doll with a preexisting character its difficult for me to get away from that character completely when working out their personality. The fact that they couldnt share clothes with the Barbies annoyed me, because that would have hugely increased the range of stuff they could wear, and the feet thing meant they couldnt always even swap shoes with each other. Yasmine had much more tan skin than Jade, so they couldnt wear each others sandals which showed the skin of their feet.
So first of all, they now have real feet!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1867.jpg
I like these a lot, they look more realistic to me than a lot of dolls feet. They’re pretty good proportionally too. My feet are a pretty odd shape, so it really softens my heart when a doll doesnt have perfect tiny pretty feet.
Second, poseability:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1868.jpg
Thats not a bad range of motion. Her limbs are pretty interesting, they’ve got a rubbery feel like a lot of dolls without any joints except the bend and snap knee, rather than the harder plastic that seems to come with this style. Some joints are much looser than the others, which would make some poses difficult to hold for a photo, and Im not inclined to mess with her wrists much at all. When I bend them, they deform a little which makes me think they might actually break after much use.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1870.jpg
See that little bend at the side of the joint nearest her thumb? It deforms more every time I mess with it, and its actually getting a tiny split, though I doubt that’ll show up on camera.
Her body is more sensibly proportioned with her head than the old Bratz, though she still basically cant wear anyones clothes but her own. I can put Barbie-size clothing on her, and it looks less ridiculous than it used to, but its still too loose. Ill make her some though, that’ll be fine. I dont exactly love the ones she came with.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1869.jpg
Theres nothing wrong with any of them, theres just not much scope to them. I want her to have a bit more style options than rather peculiar fashion victim/modernised mini witch. I wish Bratz hadnt clung to the fashion thing, I know its even in their motto but when they’ve expanded into a line as different as this, I think they could have dropped it. Theres enough about her that still identifies her as Bratz, like the face. I think a witch whose power is flight might not choose to wear a short pleated skirt. With the pleats it’ll never stay put in a breeze. Plus, I swear that skirt is made of the exact same material as one my Yasmine had, which is kinda odd.
On the positive side, i love her hair colour, its such a nice red. Its not ginger-orangey, but its not actualy little mermaid style red. I gave it a trim cos the ends were in a terrible state already, I think they were meant to be curls or waves but it was just frizz. And when its as thick as it is and nearly down to her knees theres too much of it to do any styles that look natural. Now its nice and smooth, and reaches to the middle of her back, which looks great.
I did make a few other changes too

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1865.jpg
She came with blue eyeshadow, which I went over with a yellow sharpie to make it look green. Her eyes are a kind of greeney-blue, but around her eye was just plain blue. Ive always had a soft spot for green eye make up, and never been fond of blue, so it just made sense. I also removed her trout pout lipstick, and repainted it in a slightly softer colour, and with less full lips. Its the same colour I used to just tint on a bit of blush, because I think with her colouring she’d go pink in the cheeks at the slightest thing. I was tempted to do freckles, I saw a lovely faceup online that had them but I think they’d only have worked with softer eye makeup, and based on previous experiences, I didnt want to mess with her eyes unless I was really unhappy.
Unfortunately, close up the original shape of her lips is still pretty obvious:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1866.jpg
Im wondering if I can file that down, but Im not sure what the finish would be. I can borrow some really fine sandpaper from one of my housemates, but even so Im concerned the difference in texture will end up being more obvious than the current shape. Ill update on that.
Oh, and I took the tattoo off her arm too. I just didnt much like it. I think its actually the same logo-type thing her original Bratz character had, though Im not totally sure, I kinda thought it was Yasmine that had the wings. Its definitely the same style. I dont think any of the original girls actually had it as a tattoo though, just on bags and stuff. Much as I disliked the actual style, i like that she has a tattoo. I remember a big furore about a Barbie doll with tattoos when I was in secondary school, so its nice we seem to have got past that.
Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this doll. To me, at least, she’s a massive improvement on most of the issues I had with the old Bratz, and even though there were things about her I didnt like, thats the same with any doll for me. Im not sure if the ‘perfect’ doll exists, or ever will. Ive not talked in much detail about her articulation, because I know many others have, but I liked her waist movement, Ive never actually seen it there before. And her inset eyes are just gorgeous, its a feature that I love when its done well, and none of my other dolls have it. Im not too sure about the others though. Jade has heart shaped eyes now, which I feel a tad iffy about. Still, i dont regret the purchase, and Ill post updates on how I go with her new clothes, and those lips 🙂
Bye!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/853/82299947/files/2015/01/img_1871.jpg

Leave a Reply

